Walker Creek Ranch’s 1700 acres were first inhabited by the Coastal Miwok tribe. Traces of this Native American society are still evident at the site, including a large Grinding Rock and artifacts that are on display at the school’s museum.
By the mid-1800s the site and surrounding land had become primarily dairy ranches, until 1982 when the San Francisco Foundation (now the Marin Community Foundation) bought the property and deeded it to the Marin County Office of Education for use as a residential outdoor education site.
With the help of a $2 million grant from the Marin Community Foundation, the property was transformed into a viable outdoor school and conference center, complete with a dining hall and commercial kitchen, 13 cabins, a central bath house, classrooms, and lodges. There are also two barns, an amphitheater, a large organic garden, and sports fields.
In May of 1990 the first outdoor school program began. Since then the school has hosted over 130,000 students who have discovered the magical experience that is Walker Creek Ranch.